

# District Assembly Meeting Tuesday, April 5, 2011 Minutes

### **Members Present**

Bruce Baron, Dr. Walter Chatfield, Rejoice Chavira, Kathy Crow, Jay Danley, Dr. Gloria Fisher, Ben Gamboa, Gloria Harrison, Dr. Jim Holbrook, JoAnn Jones, Marie Mestas, Stacy Meyer, Ben Mudgett, Scott Rippy, Maria Rodriguez, Dr. Cory Schwartz, Steve Sutorus, Cassandra Thomas, Catalina Trasporte, Mary Valdemar, DyAnn Walter, Kathryn Wilson

### **Members Absent**

Stephanie Briggs, Patrick Buckley, Damaris Castillo-Torres, Dr. Debra Daniels, Colleen Gamboa, Dr. Sara Glasgow, Ed Gomez, Jodi Hanley, Kaylee Hrisoulas, Ericka Paddock, Karen Peterson, James Smith, Dr. John Stanskas, Clyde Williams

#### **Guests Present**

Rick Hrdlicka, Dr. Matthew Isaac, Pat McCurry, Dr. Jack Miyamoto, Charlie Ng, Tanya Rogers

### **Call to Order**

Scott Rippy called the meeting of the District Assembly to order at 3:00 p.m. in the District Board Room at San Bernardino Community College District. He welcomed everyone.

### Minutes

Jim Holbrook moved, Ben Gamboa seconded, and the members voted to approve the March 1, 2011 minutes with one correction (Grayling Eation was listed as absent and is no longer a member).

# **Old Business**

### **Discussion on Use of Employees' SS Numbers**

# **BP & AP 7420 Authorized Driver's List**

### **AP 2225 Collegial Consultation**

This item was pulled from the agenda because Jodi Hanley was absent and could not speak to her concerns.

# BP & AP 3720 Computer Use

The Academic Senates have approved the Computer Use BP and AP.

<u>Jim Holbrook moved, Gloria Harrison seconded, and the members voted to approve BP and AP</u> 3720 Computer Use.

# BP & AP 2045 Policies & Procedures

Classified members had some concerns about policies and procedures not getting to the Classified Senates for review. Scott Rippy said Title V lists ten specific things that are deemed academic matters and added that doesn't mean we can't be more inclusive. He also stated that this body consists of representatives elected by the individual constituencies, and members of this body should be the decision-makers as non-academic issues come forward for discussion and subsequent action.

Jim Holbrook reiterated that faculty has statutory authority and the Senates could stipulate which part of the law was used to review a document.

Charlie Ng moved, Dr. Walt Chatfield seconded, and the members voted to approve a subcommittee to review and revise BP and AP 2045 Policies & Procedures.

The subcommittee will be chaired by Dr. Chatfield. Members are Cassandra Thomas, Stacy Meyer, and Mary Valdemar. A report will be prepared for the May District Assembly meeting.

#### **New Business**

# AP 2225 Collegial Consultation (Economic Development Coordinating Committee)

Gloria Harrison and Cory Schwartz will rewrite some of the language before it is forwarded to the Academic Senates for review.

### **BP & AP 7250 Management Employees**

The item was pulled from the agenda because the students were absent and could not speak to their concerns.

# **District Assembly Elections Committee**

The Election Committee members are DyAnn Walter, Rejoice Chavira, Kathy Wilson, Kathy Crow and Catalina Trasporte.

#### **Public Comment**

No public comment.

# **Planning Committees Status Reports**

No reports were given.

# **District Reports**

The following written reports were submitted:

- 1. Economic Development
- 2. Technology
- 3. Bond Program
- 4. Emergency Preparedness
- 5. <u>Human Resources</u>

# **Chancellor's Comments**

Bruce Baron thanked everyone for attending this meeting.

# Future Agenda Items/Announcements

- 1. Use of Employees' SS Numbers Dr. Holbrook
- 2. BP & AP 7420 Authorized Drivers' List Steve Sutorus
- 3. AP 2225 Collegial Consultation (Academic Calendar) Jodi Hanley
- 4. BP & AP 2045 Policies & Procedures Dr. Walt Chatfield
- 5. AP 2225 Collegial Consultation (EDCC) Gloria Harrison and Dr. Cory Schwartz
- 6. BP & AP 7250 Management Employees Students
- 7. Elections DyAnn Walter

### **Adjournment**

Scott Rippy adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.

Jacqueline F. Buus, Recorder